in ,

Get to Know Your Asanas: The Three Types and What They Do For You


In Sanskrit, asana means seat, and it refers to any pose that you hold for an extended period of time in yoga practice. Although the term can be used in general ways, there are actually three types of asanas: standing poses, seated poses, and supine poses. Each pose has its own benefits, so knowing the basics about each type will help you maximize your ability to perform them correctly and safely. Here’s what you need to know about the three types of asanas and how they work with your body.

Warrior Asanas

asana 1

The warrior asana is an intense pose that strengthens the arms and legs. It also helps relieve stress, anxiety, fatigue, and depression. To do this asana, stand in a wide stance with your toes pointed out about 45 degrees. Keep your knees soft. Raise your arms out to the sides at shoulder height with the palms facing down. Stretch back through your torso, reaching long from the hips. Finally, tuck your tailbone under while lifting up through the crown of your head and straighten both legs without locking them.
The three types of asanas are yoga poses that are designed for you to relax or strengthen different parts of your body.

Tadasana Asanas

asanas 2

Tadasana is the classic yoga pose, it’s great for all levels of practitioners, but it’s not just a beginner pose. Tadasana can help you with balance, concentration, and focus. It also helps give you a sense of what your body is capable of. To do this pose start by standing tall with your legs together in front of you. Spread your feet out so that they’re about 3-4 inches apart from one another. Extend your arms out in front of you on either side at shoulder height with the palms facing up towards the sky.

Twists Asanas

asanas 3

There’s supine twists (done lying down), seated twists (done sitting up), and standing twists (done standing up). And here’s what each type does for you:
Supine twists help relieve tension in your lower back, pelvis, and hips. Sitting twists will help lengthen your hip flexors, strengthen your core muscles, ease tension in your upper back, shoulders, neck, jaw muscles. Standing twists will help release tightness in your hamstrings, glutes, spine.

Backbends Asanas

asanas 4

The backbends category includes poses that stretch the spine backwards. Backbends are often used to help relieve stiffness in the low back, improve posture, stretch the chest muscles, open up the heart, release tension in shoulders and neck muscles, stimulate abdominal organs, provide relief from constipation or menstrual cramps. Some more advanced backbend poses can even help increase lung capacity.

Inversions Asanas

asanas 6

Asanas, or yogic poses, are typically divided into three categories. Inversions are a type of asana that includes poses like the headstand and shoulder stand.
They can be challenging for those who have neck issues, so it’s important to modify the pose accordingly. If you have neck problems, try using blocks or blankets under your head instead of a straight up handstand.

See also  7 Ancient Indian Alternative Massage Techniques You Need To Start Doing Today
lifetime fitness

Lifetime Fitness: All You Need to Know Before You Join